Skip navigation

In this article, Mark Ritson makes an interesting comparison between Twitter and WH Smith. Apparently Twitter is currently worth about $1 billion, but it won’t last long. I’d have to agree with his view on twitter. Twitter does not post profit, well because it’s a free service and will ultimately run dry. Although it won’t be similar to the dotcom burst and leave thousands jobless, it is a plateaued service. I’ll admit, I do have a twitter account, but I rarely use it. The extent of what it can do is quite limited, although that’s the point of Twitter, I honestly think it’s more of a fad than anything. I guess we’ll just see what becomes of this twittering madness. I should tweet my thoughts.

“The privately held company received a new round of investment last week, believed to be $100m, which values the business at a whopping $1bn (£624m). That makes Twitter roughly as valuable as WH Smith – which provides an excellent point of comparison.”

Leave a Reply

